Homemade jam

This week I took the opportunity to save some very ripe apricots (and one apple, as a matter of fact) from going to waste by cooking a delicious jam.

This is what I enjoy a lot during summer time: wandering around the markets and marvel at all the mouth-watering fresh fruits and berries….I wish I had a good old pantry to store a lot more homemade jam and dips and juices, so since space is limited, I only did two little pots (plus, I did not have more fruits anyway). And it’s so easy! I only get nervous every time I have to fill the boiling jam into the jars, because, well, it’s boiling.

This is what I’ve used this time:

  • 500g apricots
  • 1 apple, cut into small pieces
  • 560g of preserving sugar
  • a spritz of lemon juice
Step one: washed fruits, ready to be sliced and weighed

Step one: washed fruits, ready to be sliced and weighed

When I had everything weighed, I used a blender to get a jam-like consistency.

setupjam

It is important to follow the instruction on the preserving sugar: mine was 1:1, which means equal weight of fruit and sugar, but you can also get 1:2 or something like that. Otherwise your marmalade does not stiffen. Since my mixture turned out very sweet, I added a little lemon juice. Then it boiled for 4 minutes, and I filled the jam immediately into clean jars and closed tightly. Voila.

Result: two jars of very yummy jam...not sure it will last long!

Result: two jars of very yummy jam…not sure it will last long!

Last week I used plums (and a hint of cinnamon), which is also delicious and one jar is already gone…..Do you like homemade jam? Which one is your favourite recipe?

About Susanne

I am a marine biologist, inspired by the ocean, nature, tea and beautiful fabric patterns.
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade jam

  1. Maike says:

    already gone? 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment