Washington, D.C.

As promised, here comes the second part of my last journey. It is just a bit of eye candy, since I have not been through my roughly 1000 pictures I took nor do I want to scare you away….well, the joy of a 16GB scan disk!

I really did enjoy our stay in Washington. The city is great- a bit artificial, which I guess is the case with all planned cities – but so green and so relaxed, in a way….and Georgetown is just gorgeous. I would want a house like this some day! Unfortunately, the weather wasn’t as good as in NYC, but hey, it’s much more comfortable walking around in 18deg C than humid 35 with a huge thunderstorm (which we had on our first day.).

So, without further ado, here come the pictures:

obelisk

Washington Monument

View from Lincoln Memorial to the Washington Monument

View from Lincoln Memorial to the Washington Monument

Abe himself at Lincoln Memorial enjoying the view....(see previous picture)

Abe himself at Lincoln Memorial enjoying the view….(see previous picture)

Korean War Memorial. I found it quite scary, this larger than life soldiers in the green.....gave me goose bumps.

Korean War Memorial. I found it quite scary, this larger than life soldiers in the green…..gave me goose bumps.

At the Roosevelt Memorial. It was huuuuge.

At the Roosevelt Memorial. It was huuuuge.

In fact, all the memorials are really impressive. And the area at the Potomac Riverside they occupy is massive, we strolled for one day there and did not see everything. But one has to keep things to do for the next visit, am I right?

A cute little hideaway on our way to Georgetown. I do love the white flowers on the tree.....so nice.

A cute little hideaway on our way to Georgetown. I do love the white flowers on the tree…..so nice.

Georgetown houses. I want one!! Especially the one with the enormous, unbelievably beautiful door

Georgetown houses. I want one!! Especially the one with the enormous, unbelievably beautiful door wreath.

At last, but not least, the classic:

whitehouse

About Susanne

I am a marine biologist, inspired by the ocean, nature, tea and beautiful fabric patterns.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment